Age Grade

Scotland U20 promote three from bench for clash with Wales

wales v scotland

Head Coach John Dalziel has promoted three players to the starting XV to face Wales this Friday at Eirias Park (kick-off 6.30pm), from the team that defeated England (24-6) in the opening round of the Six Nations Championship.

There is only one change to the pack where Callum Hunter-Hill steps up from the bench to pack down at lock, with Andrew Davidson moving into the back-row.

In the back line, BT Sport Scottish Rugby Stage 3 Academy players Ruairi Howarth and George Taylor start at full-back and outside-centre respectively, with Rory Hutchinson moving in-field to stand-off.

Hugh Fraser retains the scrum-half spot to partner Hutchinson, and Galbraith starts in midfield alongside Taylor.

Darcy Graham and Robbie Nairn complete the backline on the right and left wings respectively.

In an unchanged front-row, Murray McCallum, who scored in last week’s four-try victory over England, and Callum Sheldon pack down at loosehead and tighthead prop, to accompany hooker Jake Kerr.

Captain Scott Cummings, who also touched down, will partner Hunter-Hill in the boiler-room, with Ally Miller, Matt Smith and Davidson forming the back-row trio.

Replacements Stephen Ainslie and Chris Lines, are set to make their Scotland under-20 debut if called upon from the bench.

Dalziel said: “We were delighted to get the win last week, but we’ve had to  refocus quickly and work hard on the training pitch ahead of the Wales game to ensure that we continue to improve.

“There’s a lot of rugby to be played in this tournament, and we can’t rest on our laurels; we need to keep building.

“Wales are always going to be physical and play a good brand of rugby, and, like us, confidence will be high from their victory in the first round, so we know how tough it’s going to be down there. 

“We’ve brought a few players into the team for this weekend, but we have good depth in the squad, and have no doubt in the ability and experience of those coming in.”

Scotland under-20 team to play Wales under-20 in the Six Nations Championship at Eirias Park, Colwyn Bay (kick-off 6.30pm) – live on S4C.

15. Ruairi Howarth

14. Darcy Graham

13. George Taylor

12. Tom Galbraith

11. Robbie Nairn

10. Rory Hutchinson

9. Hugh Fraser

1. Murray McCallum

2. Jack Kerr

3. Callum Sheldon

4. Callum Hunter-Hill

5. Scott Cummings

6. Andrew Davidson

7. Matt Smith

8. Ally Miller


16. Lewis Anderson

17. Goerge Thornton

18. Adam Nicol

19. Stephen Ainslie

20. Scott Burnside

21. Charlie Shiel

22. Chris Lines

23. Ben Robbins

Players unavailable due to pro-team commitments: Blair Kinghorn, Jamie Ritchie (both Edinburgh Rugby) and Adam Hastings (Bath Rugby).

%d bloggers like this: